Day One of the Specific Carbohydrate Diet
It was hard, and I cheated. I gave the girls a banana in their morning smoothie. Actually the smoothie, made from 24-hour yogurt, isn't listed specifically either, though a cooked yogurt is. And I ate lots of nut muffins throughout the day. Since my symptoms aren't as overt as theirs, I think it's okay. I also ate a bite of zucchini. Who knew it would be so hard not to eat raw veggies? And I gave the girls a super-ripe banana at the zoo. But other than that, it was plain eggs and pureed carrots in homemade chicken stock. They kinda liked it, but I'm pretty sure Nico was a little hungry when she went to bed. She does like her treats! Can I really cook their fruit? I better try; I will make apples for them. It's so hard not to be able just to hand them food! Is this how eating disorders start (using food to placate?). At least there's no tv!New stuff:
- Last week I noticed a little tiny perfect mole on Lena's left calf. It fascinates me because she hasn't had her leg exposed to the sun. It seems like it was something that was just programmed to appear on her body at a certain time. I wonder what else will appear (and whether her stork's bite will disappear fully).
- Nico is very sensitive to dryness, like her mama. If she wakes at 4.30 or 5 because she can't really breathe through her nose, I can bet the downstairs humidifier is empty, even if the one in the bedroom says the humdity's fine. (Lena gets stuffed up about half the time. Neither likes the saline nose spray.)
- We went to the zoo today for the first time! I didn't bring the stroller, and we were fine. We saw a mama gorilla with her baby--never let the babe go. They way it should be! The girls really liked the birds. They did not want to leave!
- I guess the zoo wore them out because they wanted to be outside this afternoon, but held. I said I couldn't just keep carrying both of them (I'm no gorilla), but we could go in the stroller. I didn't think they'd go for it, but they did. It was awesome. I got a good 30 minute walk, and I got to use muscles I haven't used in a while. I hope we can make it a daily thing again. I forgot how nice walking at an adult pace is.
- I got picked up by another mom finally! Of course now I don't feel like I have an extra second to spare. What a difference there is between 15 and 9 months. Or even 12 months. Now there's so much to do!

2 Comments:
I'm so bummed I can't do SCD full-tilt. I can't do dairy or nuts right now. :(
oh, that would make it impossible! i think we've done a modified version, but i don't think the damage was as bad as i thought. i'm actually worried about the nuts for the girls. nico has one molar and lena none, so there's no way they'd normally have nuts, you know?
i hope i never give up my food processor, though. i love that thing!
Post a Comment
<< Home